Stalwarts of Pembrokeshire's farming community were honoured at the Pembrokeshire Agricultural Society Awards at this year's County Show.

The inaugural president's award for outstanding contribution to the rural sector was presented to Diane Thomas for her sterling work in the equine sector.

For the past 40 years Diane has been a fixture on the judging and competitive circuits and is well known for her sterling work with the Pony Club, for which she is District Commissioner and Area Chairman.

"She has done all this while working full time," said Show President, Ian Fudge, "Giving up all her free time and holiday. Her contribution to equestrian has been immense. She is a worthy winner of this award"

The prestigious Idris Davies Memorial Award was won by Clynderwen couple, Dill and Mostyn Davies, for their longstanding devotion to YFC at a local, county and national level.

They started out as members of Fishguard and Clunderwen YFC. Between them they have held the roles of County Chairman, County President, Chief Rally Steward, County Organiser and Vice President.

Both have been avid supporters of the movement, always on hand to support events and make members feel at ease, offering help, advice and support and ensuring that each member has the best opportunities.

"We are extremely honoured and humbled to find our names on the trophy alongside so many stalwart members of the west Wales agricultural community," said Dill.

"It is a very proud day for both of us."