PEMBROKESHIRE Young Farmers’ kicked off their year with their annual County Eisteddfod, a fantastic day of bilingual competitions, giving the members an opportunity to show off their singing, reciting and performing skills.

While Fishguard YFC took the overall trophy there were big wins too for Llysyfran who took the two major literary prizes.

The stage was once again set in Theatr y Gromlech, Ysgol y Preseli and members turned out in force to compete in the various events.

In a change to the usual programme two ceremonies were held with a chair to honour the winning short story and a crown for the winning poem.

It was definitely Llysyfran YFC’s night on this front with the chair being claimed by Naomi Nicholas and the crown won by Pippa Williams both members from the club. There was a huge array of talent on show with everyone in attendance enjoying the day and evening’s entertainment.

During the day adjudicators Miss Eirian Jones, Mrs Gillian Jones and Miss Mared Jones had their work cut out deciding which competitors made it to the top spots. Also in attendance was the homework section judge Mrs Elin Williams who had been tasked with sifting through the mass of homework entries.

Also working hard looking through the various winners were Miss Shan Griffiths and Miss Joy Cornock who were tasked with selecting the 15 entries from the list of winners to represent Pembrokeshire at the Brangwyn Hall in Swansea at the Wales YFC Eisteddfod.

The items selected were. Recitation 26 and under, Sion Jenkins; solo 26 and under, Jessica Robinson; solo 21 and under, Esyllt Thomas: musical or show solo, Jessica Robinson; cerdd dant duet and duet Catrin Raymond and Nia Lloyd, vocal ensemble, Eglwysrw; recitation party, Fishguard; one voice party, Llysyfran; Hymn Singing Jess Robinson; Stand up Jessica Robinson, Mime to Music Llysyfran, Folk Dancing Fishguard; Humorous duet Jessica and Ellie Robinson; Recitation 21 & Under Nia Lloyd.

The Overall Eisteddfod Gwyn and Marilyn Lewis Trophy was awarded to Fishguard YFC who also were awarded the Beth Williams Cup for the highest points in the homework section with Llysyfran awarded the Dill Williams cup for the highest points in the light section.

This year a new cup was awarded by the new Pembrokeshire YFC president Alwyn Evans and his family for the highest points in stage competition and was awarded to Fishguard YFC.