By Meyrick Brown

The St Davids & District Ploughing Society has a proud history since it was first established in the 1920s. From its ranks it has produced many superb craftsmen who have gone on to earn wider recognition, notably the late Ieuan Jenkins,Trefor Davies, Leonard Phillips and his brother, Bobs, together with Terry Evans, Stephen and Peter Phillips and more recently Rhodri George and his son, James.

Rhodri has also been awarded the Welsh championship and gone on to represented Wales at World level –in Canada and France – and James has been junior champion of Wales.

Elwyn James served the society faithfully as secretary for over 30 years and has been ably succeeded by Rhodri’s wife, Alison.

The sety has twice staged the All Wales Ploughing event and will do so again next September, his time on land at Crug Glas Farm.

Sponsorship is presently being sought and a number of fundraising events have been held and some more are planned for the coming months.

About ten years ago a rewarding decision was taken to move the society’s annual match to a February date and this initially attracted several top class Irish competitors to challenge the locals and, it is anticipated, several will be coming over again next September.

This year’s annual match took place recently at Carnwchwrn Farm, St Davids by kind invitation of Robert and Christine Griffiths on a beautiful early spring day and attracted almost 40 highly skilled competitors.

The champion ploughman of the day was Roland Glanville from Cornwall with Rhodri George as runner – up. Winning society senior member was Rhodri George and the junior prize went to Will Penny.


Semi digger – Roland Glanville, res – Rhodri George, under 26 – James George.

Classic – David Nicholas, res – Jeremy Jacobs-Roberts.

Trailed plough – Sam Jones, res – Gordon Harries.

Vintage, hydraulic – Emlyn Jones, res – Cliff Hamer.

Ferguson TE20 – John Evans, res – Wil John.

Reversible – Paul Thomas, res – Gerwyn Evans.

Horses – Heather Robertson.

South West Wales Championship points: senior – Rhodri George 3, Lodwig Jones 2, Brenyg Bryan 1, junior – James George 3, Will Penny 2.


Overall – Robbie Davies.