YFC federations from west Wales dominated the awards when members from across Wales travelled to Aberystwyth to attend the federation's recent annual meeting.

As well as the AGM, the weekend played host to a number of the Federation’s steering groups, council meeting and the inaugural Chairman’s Ball.

During the AGM the winners of various YFC awards were announced.

Members from the Ceredigion and Pembrokeshire YFC Federations had reason to celebrate after winning the Western Mail Trophy after they scored the highest number of points in all Wales YFC programmes of work throughout the year.

Ceredigion also took home the Beynon Thomas trophy for the highest points scored by junior members in Wales YFC programmes of work.

The NFU Cymru trophy for the county with the largest increase in membership was awarded to the Brecknock Federation with an increase of 10 per cent.

Members also elected a number of officials for the forthcoming year at the meeting with BBC Radio Cymru presenter Geraint Lloyd elected as the Wales YFC president for his second term in office.

Dafydd Jones, Meirionnydd YFC, was elected as chairman and Katie Davies, Pembrokeshire YFC as vice-chairman for the forthcoming YFC year.

At the steering group meetings, members discussed their programmes of work for the forthcoming year. New sub-committee chairmen and vice-chairmen were also elected to take charge of Wales YFC’s committees for the next 12 months.

2018/2019 Wales YFC officers:

President: Geraint Lloyd, Ceredigion; chairman: Laura Elliott, Glamorgan; vice-chairman: Dafydd Jones, Meirionnydd; competitions chairman: Elen Williams, Glamorgan; competitions vice-chairman: Erica Swan, Clwyd; rural affairs chairman: Hefin Evans, Carmarthenshire; rural affairs vice-chairman: Lee Pritchard, Glamorgan; events and marketing chairman: Carys Jones, Carmarthenshire; events and marketing vice-chairman: Aled Thomas, Pembrokeshire; international chairman: Angharad Edwards, Pembrokeshire; international vice-chairman: Rhiannon Davies, Ceredigion; youth forum chairman: Alaw Mair Jones, Ceredigion; youth forum vice-chairman: Sioned Phillips, Pembrokeshire.