The Future Farmers of Wales has a new president, Gaina Morgan, and new chairman, Chris Hanks.

The club was formed 30 years ago when founder president, Dai Davies, and Charles Arch had the vision to provide a platform for elite younger farmers in Wales to continue their professional development and to contribute to the industry.

It’s a formula that has produced many of the industry’s leaders and opinion formers in Wales and has been the catalyst for a number of innovative diversifications and on farm development.

The organisation is so well regarded that meetings are held with Welsh Government ministers and officials, with chief veterinary officer for Wales Professor Christianne Glossop and, this year, with secretary of state for Wales, Alun Cairns.

Gaina takes over from Professor Wynne Jones, former principal of Harper Adams University, as president. Chris Hanks, who manages the anaerobic digestion plant at Pancross Farm in the Vale of Glamorgan, takes over from Carwyn Rees.