Two farming charities received a major cash boost at the annual meeting of Carmarthenshire YFC in Pontargothi at the end of September.

Before the meeting a cheque for £1,200 was presented to Tir Dewi by last year's county chairman Miss Carys Thomas.

The money was raised at a carol service last December and a cymanfa ganu during the summer. A cheque for £11,150 was also presented to the DPJ Foundation by the county ambassadors and chairman. This money was raised between a turkey bingo evening, fun and games night and also the Welsh Three Peaks challenge at the start of summer.

Mr Iestyn Owen, Capel-Arthne YFC, was elected as county chair for 2019-2020 with Mr Hefin Evans, Capel Iwan YFCc as vice-chair for the year.

Carys Thomas was thanked for her work over the past year as chair of the county. Aled Thomas, Dyffryn Cothi YFC, was elected chairman of the activities committee, with Sion Evans, Llanllwni YFC, vice-chairman.

Elin Childs, Llanfynydd YFC, was elected as the finance committee chairman and Sian Williams, Llangadog YFC, vice-chairman.

Mrs Jean Lewis was re-elected as president of the county with Mr Elfyn Davies being re-elected as vice-president.

During the annual meeting Penybont YFC were announced as winners of the John and Hazel James Cup for the club with the highest points in county competitions for 2018-19 for the second time on the trot.

Llanfynydd and Penybont clubs also received the Elfyn Richards Memorial Cup for the club with the highest points in Welsh and English public speaking competitions respectively for 2018-19.