The 60th All-Wales Ploughing Championship, at Gwernygo Farm, Sarn, Monmouthshire, took place on a perfect dry Saturday and the organisation by the local committee was excellent.

Everybody enjoyed themselves thoroughly; the ploughmen, hedging and wire fencing competitors, spectators and traders, all had a busy day.

The ploughing fields were on stubble, but after 10 days without rain the ground was rather dry and hard, so nice clean furrows were difficult to achieve. Many local Welsh ploughmen were up against Englishmen and competition was fierce.

Classes 1, 2 and 3 covered modern hydraulic semi-digger and reversible ploughs. Past Welsh champion and world title runner-up Evan Watkin won Class 1 and is 2019 Welsh champion, he will be going to the 2020 World Championship in Russia.

The under-26 Class 2 was won by James George, while Class 3, reversible world-style, was won by Hugh Griffith.

Vintage ploughing classes are always very popular with visitors, many older farmers casting a critical eye over the furrows cut by competitors.

Classic Class 5 caters for 1960-1976 tractors and ploughs, with 14 participants and a number of former winners in contention. Jon Cole beat all-comers to take first prize with his Nuffield 3, followed by Paul Studley (International Harvester) and Ceri Richards (David Brown 880).

The Class 6 vintage trailer ploughing field can be located by smell – a good many old Fordson N paraffin-fuelled tvo tractors are still used for this class, giving a very ‘vintage’ feel to the scene.

A number of past champions were competing, including John Milnes, who once again took the title with his Massey Ferguson 35/Ransomes plough combination, ahead of Brian Shaw and regular competitor Andrew Buckley.

Vintage hydraulic Class 7 is always very close-fought, with 17 participants including a number of well-known ploughmen.

Tony Bradley came fourth, despite an operation to his arm, and got a special mention. The winner was previous Welsh Champion Richard Ingram, closely followed by Emlyn Jones who improves every year, and Cliff Hamer in third.

High-cut Class 8 is fascinating to watch as any error shows up on the steep, narrow furrows. John Broomfield took the title, followed by regular competitor Derek Needham with his unusual Zetor 4511 tractor and John Saunders third.

The ever-popular Ferguson TE20 class was won by Keith Williams, with Donald Mills second and Richard Glyn Jones third.

Horse-ploughing remains an attractive fixture at the All-Wales with three teams competing; John Fletcher winning, followed by Heather Robertson in Class 12, general purpose. Roger Smith took the high-cut title.


Class 1 Semi-digger – world style: 1, Evan Watkin ; 2, Ashley Boyles ; 3, Rhodri George ; 4, Lodwick Jones ; 5, Stuart Vickers

Class 2 Under 26 years semi-digger – world style: 1, James George ; 2, John Jones

Class 3 Reversible ploughing – world style: 1, Hugh Griffith ; 2, Clive Roberts ; 3, Chris Howell ; 4, Dylan Elwyn Hughes

Class 5 General purpose or semi-digger (classic): 1, Jon Cole ; 2, Paul Studley ; 3, Ceri Richards; 4, David Hankey ; 5, William Thomas

Class 6 Vintage ploughing – trailer: 1, John Milnes; 2, Brian Shaw ; 3, Andrew Buckley ; 4, Sam Jones ; 5, Gordon Harries

Class 7 Vintage ploughing – hydraulic: 1, Richard William Ingram ; 2, Emlyn Jones ; 3, Cliff Hamer ; 4, Anthony Bradley ; 5, Stuart Lamb

Class 8 High cut: 1, John Broomfield; 2, Derek Needham ; 3, John Saunders; =4, Graham Soule and Peter Shirley

Class 9 Ferguson TE20: 1, Keith Williams ; 2, Donald Mills ; 3, Richard Glyn Jones ; 4, Gwynfor Parry ; 5, Graham Lloyd Jones

Class 10 Novice: 1, David Morris Jones; 2, Harry Jones ; 3, Emlyn Hughes; =4, Geraint Jones and Sam Gittins

Champion Welsh Tractor Ploughman: Evan Watkin

Reserve Champion Welsh Tractor Ploughman: Rhodri George

Welsh representatives to World Contest: Conventional: Evan Watkin; Reversible: Hugh Griffith

The Evan Davies Trophy, Best Young Ploughman under 26: Stuart Vickers

The Richard & Heather March Trophy, Best work in semi-digger under 26: James George

The Monmouthshire Perpetual Trophy, Best ploughing work done by a Monmouthshire ploughman: Anthony Bradley

The Barbara & Glyn Davies Perpetual Cup, Best ploughing work done by a ploughman residing in Pembrokeshire, Glamorgan or Carmarthenshire: Rhodri George


Class 12 General purpose: 1, John Fletcher; 2, Kim Williams; 3, Phil Davies; 4, Ms Heather Robertson

Best turnout: 1, Phil Davies; 2, John Fletcher; 3, Kim Williams

Best working team of horses: 1, John Fletcher; 2, Phil Davies; 3, Kim Williams

Border Fine Arts Perpetual Trophy awarded to the Champion Welsh Horse Ploughman: John Fletcher


Class 13 Montgomeryshire style open: 1, Gwynfor Harding ; 2, Berwyn Harding ; 3, Richard Lewis; 4, Carwyn Jones

Class 14 Montgomeryshire style intermediate: 1, Edward Gethin; 2, Richard Gethin ; 3, David Master

Class 15 Any style open: 1, Brian Price ; 2, Neville R Powell ; 3, Mark Pritchard ; 4, Edwyn Roberts; 5, Rita Jones

Class 16 Any style intermediate: 1, Eifion Jones; 2, Hywel Jones

Champion Welsh Hedger: Gwynfor Harding

CLA Trophy awarded to the Champion Hedger: Brian Price


Class 19 Open pairs: 1, Keith Pugh and Alun Davies