A FORMER principal of Harper Adams University, Professor Wynne Jones, from Aberystwyth, has been presented with a lifetime achievement award at the Gwobrau Lantra Cymru Awards.

Professor Jones was raised in the north Wales coastal towns of Llaneilian and Betws yn Rhos and later attended the University College of North Wales, Bangor, where he graduated in agriculture in 1970.

He went on to spend half of his career in Aberystwyth, working at the Welsh Agricultural College in Llanbadarn and the other half of his working life, just over the border in Shropshire where he was appointed vice-principal and director of research at Harper Adams University and later principal in 1996.

Professor Wynne Jones is a well-known and respected figure in the farming world. His personal contribution has been recognised by the industry, as in 2009 he was awarded the OBE for services to agricultural higher education.

In addition, he has held many appointments to agricultural strategic boards and advisory committees because of his knowledge and expertise. Since his retirement, he was appointed president of Future Farmers of Wales, and more recently chair of the Farming Connect strategic advisory board.

Professor Jones said: “It’s a great privilege to be honoured to tell you the truth, especially to have something in Wales, considering I’ve spent a lot of time across the border.

"There’s a lot of big changes ahead of us as an agricultural industry and the food supply chain and the development of skills, new technology, and new ways of running a business will be vitally for the future.”

This year marked an important milestone for the Gwobrau Lantra Cymru Awards as they reached a 25-year milestone.

In celebration, the awards up-scaled to a free standing ceremony, held at the Metropole Hotel in Llandrindod Wells and brought together key partners, organisations and individuals to recognise the initiatives, skills and enthusiasm of individuals pursuing careers within the sectors.

Comperes for the evening included BBC Cymru Wales presenter Rachael Garside and Aled Rhys Jones, rural business consultant and Nuffield Farming scholar, who went on to present the winners and runners-up awards for a wide number of land-based sectors, including agriculture, environment, horticulture and forestry.

The full list of the Gwobrau Lantra Cymru Awards 2019 winners and runners-up is as follows:

College Young Learner of the Year

Winner: Elin Wyn Orrells (Montgomery, Powys)

Runner-up: Tomos Davies (Denbigh)

Highly commended: Joseph Maguire (Penymynydd, Flintshire); Niamh Williams (New Brighton, Wrexham); Elin Protheroe (Llanwrtyd Wells, Powys)

College Lifelong Learner of the Year

Winner: Daniel Savin (Caernarfon)

Farming Connect Young Learner of the Year

Winner: Gwen Price (Llangadog, Carmarthenshire)

Runner-up: Susan James (Narbeth, Pembrokeshire)

Farming Connect Lifelong Learner of the Year

Winner: Steve Lewis (Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire)

Runner-up and highly commended: Mark Thomas (Carmarthen)

Farm Innovator

Winner: Cheryl Reeves (Bangor on Dee, Wrexham)

Runner-up: Steve Lewis (Haverfordwest)

Tyfu Cymru Award

Winner: Bellis Brothers Farm Shop and Garden Centre (Wrexham)

Runner-up: Farmyard Nurseries (Llandysul, Carmarthenshire)

Forestry Learner of the Year

Winner: Stephanie Widdowson (Caernarfon)

Runner-up: Leigh Ambler (Brynmawr, Gwent)

Future Farmers of Wales

Winner: Annie James (Llandysul, Carmarthenshire)

Worshipful Livery Company of Wales Award (Wales YFC)

Winner: Huw Jones (Llanerchymedd, Anglesey)

Brynle Williams Memorial Award

Winner: Peredur Owen (Llandovery, Carmarthenshire)

Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner: Professor Wynne Jones (Waunfawr, Aberystwyth)