OVER the years the Costcutter League (formerly Cardiganshire Football League) has seen clubs scooping coveted trophies before disbanding.

Some clubs have reformed before going out of business again and it could be interesting to see if there is a further falling by the wayside when the pandemic is over.

The top competition outside senior football in the area is the J Emrys Morgan Cup, which involves the Costcutter, Cambrian Tyres Aberystwyth League, JT Hughes Montgomeryshire Amateur League and Mid Wales League South.

At first blush, the small community of Saron on the Newcastle Emlyn to Carmarthen road, would hardly be conspicuous as the home of a football power in mid-Wales.

But there was a time when the village could boast a top team, finishing runners-up to Dewi Stars in the Costcutter Division One, beaten finalists in the Bay Cup and the highlight when lifting the Emrys Morgan after victory over Penrhyncoch in season 1997-1998. Sadly the club has passed into history.

Tregaron Turfs were crowned Cambrian Tyres Aberystwyth League champions last month, but in season 1958-59 they plied their trade in the Cardiganshire League when capturing the league silverware.

Five former Division One kingpins are no longer in existence, including Llanybydder who were champions in 1951-52 a season in which they doubled up by claiming the League Cup with victory over another defunct club Llanon.

Cilgerran were runners-up behind Llandysul in 1948-49 and became top dogs the following season, St David’s University College Lampeter were champions in 1963-64, while the village of Beulah north of Newcastle Emlyn competed for a few campaigns and took the title in 1962-63.

The Royal Aircraft Establishment Aberporth (RAE) competed for several years, the Airmen pulling off the League Cup and Bay Cup double in season 1960-61 and just missing out on a treble when runners up to St Dogmaels for the championship.

Other clubs no longer in existence and who had their moments through the years were Pencader, Cilcennin in the Aeron Valley, Gwili Rangers of Llanpumpsaint in Carmarthenshire, Llanon and Aber AC.

Penrhyncoch and Carmarthen also had teams in the league.